List of Uhuru's Latest Appointees Weeks Before He Retires –

President Uhuru Kenyatta has made new appointments in key parastatals weeks before exiting office, when his tenure expires on August 9, 2022.
The strategic appointments target lucrative institutions and departments including the National Treasury, the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) and the Kenya National Examinations
At the Treasury, Abdirahin H Abdi has been appointed chairperson of the Retirement Benefits Authority (RBA) with Richard Kiplagat retained chairperson of the Unclaimed Financial Assets Authority (UFAA).
Dennis Aroka has been appointed to the board of the Kenya Railways Corporation (KRC). John King’ori Wahome has been appointed to the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) while Stephen K. Cheboi and Timothy Muasya Kitenge will join the Kenya Yearbook Board.
The Board of Trustees of the Water Sector Trust Fund now has new members including Bill Lay, Mbatia Kimani, Kevin O Opiyo, Musa Ndeto and Dr Mary Wambui.
The University of Nairobi (UoN) and Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology will be chaired by Prof. Miriam Were and Prof Shem Wandiga respectively, for the next three years. Were takes over from veteran academician Prof. Julia Ojiambo.
Other chairpersons of university councils are Dr Christopher Gatama Gakahu (Machakos University), Dr Risely Kavu Ngala (Koitalel Samoei University College), Dr Timothy Mwangi Kiruhi (Tharaka University College) and Idle Omar Farah (Technical University of Kenya). Former UoN vice chancellor Isaac Meroka Mbeche is the new chairperson of the council of Taita Taveta University.
The Kenya Technical Trainers Technical College council has new membership with Dennis Awori as the chair and Veronica Birgen, Shelmith Mugoh, Gideon Murenga, Zachary Ooko and Phyllis EN Wangwe as members.
Dr Paul Kimutai Murgor, Christine Jepchirchir Tomno, Antonio Musyoka David, Veronica Wangari and Dr Obudho Samuel Omondi are the new members of the council of the Eldoret National Polytechnic.
Dr Virginia Wamuyu Kimani will chair the council of Alupe University College while Prof Simon Mitema is the new chair of the council of Bomet University College.
In the Agricultural sector, Uhuru appointed Hassan M Reche to chair New Kenya Planters Cooperative Union – Hellen Nangithia to head Nyayo Tea Zones Development Corporation, Njoroge Kagwe – Pest Control Products Board), Feisal Abass – Privatization Commission and Elijah Njore – Water Services Regulatory Board). Beatrice M Kimemia was reappointed chairperson of the Co-operative Tribunal.
Danson Ngaari Mwangi is the new chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Commodities Fund and George Murathe as chairperson of the Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority (SASRA).
Other appointments are Dr Stellah I. Onyiego and Michael Mutembei Kibutha as members of the Kenya Institute of Mass Communication board.
Parastatals play a major role in Kenya’s economy, having been established over the years to foster wider development goals. They go a long way to help government oversee its business and other elements. Besides, parastatals top the list of well-paying and competitive employers in Kenya.
The latest appointments will, therefore, see President Kenyatta’s successor contend with the new members and chairpersons until the year 2025 for any appointment to occur.


Leave a Comment